2015 · 4 Stars · Book Reviews · Reviewed for NetGalley · Young Adult

Stay the Distance – Mara Dabrishus

25247133

fourstar

Available for Pre-Order!


 

Synopsis:

July Carter’s world is perfect from the back of a horse. From the ground, everything is a complete mess: her jockey mom ran off for California years ago, her dad always seems more interested in the horses than in her, and the horse July wants for herself will never be hers. Even though the New York racing circuit has taught her not to get attached, July can’t help connecting with Kali, a hopeless filly that refuses to run when it counts.

When bankruptcy rumors start swirling around the barn, the future is murkier than ever. July can’t stand losing one more thing, and Beck, the barn owner’s son, knows more about the rumors than anyone else. July will get the truth, even if she has to pry it out of him, for Kali’s sake and her own.


Review:

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I really liked this book. I really, really liked this book. The only reason that it didn’t get a 5 star rating from me is just that it was just to short. I read this on my nook and even on that it was less than 200 pages.

I really felt like I was right there, on the back on the horse running around the track. This book was beautifully written and super detailed. The best part is that everything was so accurate. I like to think of myself as a horse person and everything was just so spot on. You can tell that Mara Dabrishus is not only knows about horses but she takes great joy when horses are concerned.

This is this first book by this author I have read, but it will not be the last.

I loved how each character had such a diverse and rich personality, including the horses. Just like in real life. If you love horses this a great book to read. I highly recommend it.

One thought on “Stay the Distance – Mara Dabrishus

What are your thoughts?

