2015 · 5 Stars · Book Reviews · Retelling · Reviewed for NetGalley · Young Adult

Thorn – Intisar Khanani

20558124

fivestar

http://www.booksbyintisar.com


Synopsis:

For Princess Alyrra, choice is a luxury she’s never had … until she’s betrayed.

Princess Alyrra has never enjoyed the security or power of her rank. Between her family’s cruelty and the court’s contempt, she has spent her life in the shadows. Forced to marry a powerful foreign prince, Alyrra embarks on a journey to meet her betrothed with little hope for a better future.

But powerful men have powerful enemies–and now, so does Alyrra. Betrayed during a magical attack, her identity is switched with another woman’s, giving Alyrra the first choice she’s ever had: to start a new life for herself or fight for a prince she’s never met. But Alyrra soon finds that Prince Kestrin is not at all what she expected. While walking away will cost Kestrin his life, returning to the court may cost Alyrra her own. As Alyrra is coming to realize, sometime the hardest choice means learning to trust herself.


Review:

*Thank you NetGalley for sending me a copy of this book for an honest review.*

Oh my goodness, oh my goodness, oh my goodness! I was so surprised by how much I loved this book. I started reading it today on my break at work and it caught my attention within that 15 minutes. I was so sad I had to wait hours before I could continue reading. It has been a while since a book really jumped out at me like that. I just couldn’t seem to put it down.

This book is a retelling of The Goose Girl. I thought that there was going to be more romance but I was glad that that part of the book took a backseat. All of the characters were so creative and so well conceived. The world itself was also created beautifully.

The plot was pretty good, interesting enough to kept me reading for the entire time. Despite the fact that the synopsis seems to empathize a lot on the romance, but the main focus was definitely beyond that. I would have elaborate more but I think it would be better getting in the story without knowing much.

I am the Lady who has lost her soul. I am the princess who has lost her self. I am the goose girl who has lost her way. I am the child who can scream no more.

I love the character Princess Alyrra. She is very mature beyond her years. What I like most about her is her personality. She is a very kind hearted girl, she is not a spoiled brat.

Intisar Khanani really knows how to pull at your heartstrings. I cried so hard. Enough to where my boyfriend got up and got me a cookie and told me it was going to be okay.

One of my favorite things about the book is that there isn’t an instant love connection. I hate when the woman just swoons and then two chapters later they are in love and can do no wrong to each other. That just bugs me when that happens.

Overall, this was an amazing book. I am so sad that I didn’t read it sooner. And I will definitely be reading more by this author just as soon as I get through my to reads for NetGalley.

3 thoughts on “Thorn – Intisar Khanani

  1. I just wanted to thank you for this wonderful review of Thorn! I am so thrilled you enjoyed it, and that it captured your interest so quickly! 🙂 There are definitely some sad moments … so glad those resulted in cookies for you! (Win!) And I must agree, I am not a fan of insta-love either. 😉

    Like

What are your thoughts?

