2015 · 5 Stars · Adult · Book Reviews · Historical

The Virgin’s Daughter – Laura Andersen

23012505

fivestar

http://www.lauraandersenbooks.com

Link to Goodreads


Synopsis:

What if Elizabeth the First, the celebrated Virgin Queen, had a daughter? For those who just can’t get enough of the scandalous Tudors, the author of the wildly popular Boleyn King series offers an enthralling new saga of the royal family, set in Elizabethan England. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir.

Andersen explores the thrilling possibility of a Tudor heir, the daughter of Elizabeth I, in her new trilogy, a captivating continuation of the alternate history of the Tudors launched in the award-winning Boleyn King trilogy. With her originality and imagination, Andersen breathes fresh life into this ever-fascinating epoch. Peppered with realistic period-details and genuine historical figures to add dimension and texture to her captivating story, Andersen brings the seduction and glamour of the Tudor court to life in this spellbinding new novel.


 Review:

I have recently gotten into the whole alternate history genre and I have yet to read another author who writes it so well. I love a good historical fiction. But there is something special when you change a pivotal moment in history and make it new, versus writing a historical fiction that is more just how you see the past.

If you haven’t read Andersen’s other books you should before you start this one. You will be able to figure out what is going on if you don’t, but it just won’t be the same without all of the background.

I loved this book. I have to admit that I knew I was going to love it before reading it as I loved Laura Andersen’s other books. This series picks up with the children of Minuette and Dominic.

I would have to say that I enjoyed this book a little more than the first 3 books in The Boleyn series. The main reason for this is, that this book just seemed to flow so fluidly versus the others. You can really see how the author is really getting into the swing of things.

Andersen’s characters have so much depth to them. I might not like or agree with the way they act or how they think, but that just makes them seem more human. My favorite part of the whole book was the fact that there was less drama. Not less intrigue (there was plenty of that), but a lot less drama. I was getting a little tired of it all in the last books. There were a lot of times in the other books where I was screaming at the book,
You stupid, stupid girl!

If I had to pick one thing about the book it would have to be that you knew who the traitor is pretty early in the book. There wasn’t a huge reveal towards the end of the book. You never got that AH HA! moment. Then you get left with a huge cliffhanger, so now I have to wait in suspense for the next book.

 

One thought on “The Virgin’s Daughter – Laura Andersen

What are your thoughts?

