2015 · 4 Stars · Book Reviews · Historical · Reviewed for NetGalley · Romance

If He’s Noble – Hannah Howell

22750009

fourstar

Link To Author’s Website

Link to Goodreads Page


Synopsis:

For Lady Primrose Wootten nothing has been ordinary since her father the Baron died and his wayward family filled the estate with greed and treachery. Primrose knows if she can just track down her brother, he can send the odious relations on their way. But instead she finds this enormous, powerful stranger, and forgets entirely what she was doing in the first place…

Sir Bened Vaughn isn’t much afraid of a pistol. But he is a bit afraid of the woman holding it, who stirs up something so primal he’s not sure he can shake it off. Vaughn is an honorable man, and he knows he has no right to desire Primrose. Yet he does have an obligation to help her, and as they learn more about her brother’s disappearance, he realizes that means staying by her side…wanting her all the while… and wondering how much longer they can resist temptation…


 Review:

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I know I am going to get a lot of flack for this but I really thought this book was going to be better. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t bad. It’s just after reading all of the great reviews I thought this was going to just blow me away.

I read a lot of the Highlander books when I was in high school. So it’s been awhile since I have read any of Hannah Howell’s work. What I remember though is that they were so good, I couldn’t put them down.

I might have liked this book more if I had read any of the other books in this series. So I might just be missing something that gave it that amazing spark at the beginning of the book. The spark that begins your book crush, that slowly turns to love by the time you finish.

Most of the characters for me just seemed a little flat, and the best part of the book (revenge on her Aunt) felt like a footnote. It was just so rushed over. Then the author went over how Primrose saved the dog multiple times, and kept bringing up how amazing Primrose’s memory recall is and how shocked she is over and over again that she can’t remember certain painful memories.

One moment I liked Primrose as a character because she stands up for herself, then just a few pages later I don’t want anything to do with her. Bened though, I could just eat with a spoon. He was written very well.

It’s very hard not to love the Vaughn/Wherlocke family. I just love how close they all are. They all have a special gift and have been persecuted and hunted in the past as witches. Overall not a bad book, just not as good as I hoped it would be.

What are your thoughts?

