2015 · 4 Stars · Book Reviews · Humor · Mystery · Paranormal · Reviewed for NetGalley · Romance

Wicked Charms – Janet Evonovich

23012480

fourstar

Link To Author’s Website

Link to Goodreads Page


Synopsis:

Lizzy and Diesel return once again in an all-new adventure in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Janet Evanovich and her co-author, Phoef Sutton!

Murdered and mummified more than ninety years ago, bootlegger Collier “Peg Leg” Dazzle once found and re-hid a famous pirate’s treasure somewhere along the coast of New England. A vast collection of gold and silver coins and precious gems, the bounty also contains the Stone of Avarice — the very item reluctant treasure seeker, Lizzy Tucker, and her partner, Diesel, have been enlisted to find. While Lizzy would just like to live a quiet, semi-normal life, Diesel is all about the hunt. And this hunt is going to require a genuine treasure map and a ship worthy of sailing the seven seas . . . or at least getting them from Salem Harbor to Maine.

Greed is eternal and insatiable, and Lizzy and Diesel aren’t the only ones searching for the lost pirate’s chest. There are people who have dedicated their entire lives to finding it, and are willing to commit murder or make a deal with the devil, just to hold the fortune in their hands. One of those people may even be Wulf, Diesel’s deceptively charming and enigmatic cousin. Wulf desires the Stone of Avarice. He also desires Lizzy. It’s hard to say how far he’s willing to go to gain either one.

It’s a swashbuckling adventure full of raiders, monkeys, minions, and mayhem. Lizzy and Diesel are going to have to do everything they can to keep their heads above water and hope they are living a charmed life.


 

Review:

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Warning! This book will make you want cupcakes!

I really enjoyed this book. I feel like I am missing out though as I haven’t read the first two books yet. But they are definitely on my to read list now. I actually went out and bought them today after I finished this book.

There is nothing wrong with reading a silly, laid back book. There were only a few part where I actually laughed out loud but I did find myself smiling throughout the book.

Since I didn’t read the first two books I was a little lost at the beginning of the book, but it didn’t take me long to start figuring things out.

I really enjoy reading anything my Janet Evanovich. She has a way of writing characters that are just so real and relatable. I also really liked how the book was fast paced. There was no lingering on certain scenarios just to fill pages. I hate when authors go all detail crazy trying to describe something to the reader and it just goes on for 5 pages…. Yes we get it, her dress was very pretty and her shoes looked good with the dress…. Move on!

I think my favorite characters would have to be Hatchet and Wulf. Hatchet just cracks me up. I would love to see someone acting like that. Don’t know if I would actually socialize with him, but it would be very entertaining to say the least.

The thing that really got me though was the very end of the book. Now I will have to surf the web everyday until there is a release date for the next book.

2 thoughts on “Wicked Charms – Janet Evonovich

What are your thoughts?

