1 Star · 2015 · Book Reviews · Reviewed for NetGalley · Young Adult

As White As Snow – Salla Simukka

23222516
onestar

The heat of the summer sun bakes the streets of Prague, but Lumikki’s heart is frozen solid.

Looking to escape the notoriety caused by the part she played in taking down Polar Bear’s crime ring, seventeen-year-old Lumikki Andersson escapes to Prague, where she hopes to find a few weeks of peace among the hordes of tourists. But not long after arriving, she’s cornered by a skittish and strange young woman who claims to be her long-lost sister. The woman, Lenka, is obviously terrified, and even though Lumikki doesn’t believe her story—although parts of it ring true—she can’t just walk away.

Lumikki quickly gets caught up in Lenka’s sad and mysterious world, uncovering pieces of a mystery that take her from the belly of a poisonous cult to the highest echelons of corporate power. On the run for her life again, Lumikki must use all her wits to survive, but in the end, she just may discover she can’t do it all alone.


Review:

Shout out to NetGalley for sending me this book in exchange for an honest review.

Please keep in mind that this is my opinion of the book. Just because I feel this way doesn’t mean that you won’t. As for the people who enjoyed this book, more power to you for finding this a joy to read where I couldn’t.

So…. basically everything that I didn’t like in the first book was once again shoved down my throat. A lead female character that you want to like but just can’t. Parts that took up the most of the book didn’t need to be there at all, and all the stuff that you really wanted to read was either not there or just mentioned in passing. Needless to say that I wasn’t happy with this book. Also the fact that there is another book after this one makes me want to cry. I really don’t want to read it but after 2 books I might as well read the (hopefully) last book so I don’t have to leave a series only partway done.

I would have liked this book if Lenka’s part of the book had been real (you will understand if you read the book, I don’t want to ruin it just in case you want to read it). So basically the one part of the book I liked gets ripped away from me.

This was a short book (to me at least) and I found that it still took me 3 days to push through it. The scenes where she running from the hit men are written well and full of description but you don’t see that eye for detail when it comes to the really important parts. They just get glanced over. The author spends more time talking about Lumikki’s lost love so often I just start to glance over anything concerning Blaze. I would have loved to have read about how Lenka lived. Some part that was through her eyes. But that whole perspective was lost to us, the readers. Instead we get to read about how Lumikki and Blaze used to play physical treasure map and emotional treasure map. The author explained their little love games more than the aftermath from the last book, or how what happened to her changed Lumikki as a person.

I didn’t want to give this book one star just because you don’t know what is lost in translation but once I got to the end of the book I just couldn’t help myself. If you haven’t read the first book, I wouldn’t so you didn’t feel compelled to read the rest of the series.

4 thoughts on “As White As Snow – Salla Simukka

  1. Sorry to hear this one wasn’t worth your effort in the end! I’ve been quite lucky with my books lately. Thank goodness

    Like

      1. Thank you for the follow! And I adore retelling. My next list after the fairy tales will have to be about myths 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exciting! 🙂 Not sure if you have read it but Downcast by Cait Reynolds is a retelling on Hades and Persephone. It was pretty good. Either way, I can’t wait for your next list 🙂

        Like

What are your thoughts?

