2 Stars · 2015 · Book Reviews · Young Adult

As Black as Ebony – Salla Simukka

24965090

twostar

 

Link to Goodreads Page


Synopsis:

After a harrowing summer in Prague, Lumikki Andersson is back in Finland at her prestigious art school, concentrating on graduation. She lands the lead role in the school’s modern-day adaptation of “Snow White” and finds herself facing a new distraction—Sampsa, the boy playing the role of the huntsman, who has an undeniable allure that makes Lumikki conflicted about what, and who, she wants.

As Lumikki starts falling into something more than just her role on stage, a shadow is cast over the production when she begins receiving creepily obsessive love notes. Lumikki can’t ignore the increasingly hostile tone of her admirer’s messages, and when the stalker threatens mass violence at the play’s premiere, Lumikki knows she must discover who is behind the menace and stop the person at all costs.

With a foe who has a heart as black as ebony, does Lumikki have any hope of saving those she loves?


Review:

Eh…. That is the best way that I can describe this book. I requested the whole series, and I should have waited until I read the first one before I asked for the others. I just didn’t really like this series, or this book.

There were just so many little things that seemed to really get under my skin. How she reacts to her stalker is one of these things. In the other books Lumikki is this kick butt character. But instead of tackling the problem head on and trying to figure out who the stalker is, she instead does everything he tells her to.

The silly love triangle was also a sore point for me. As a general rule I don’t seem to enjoy love triangles. It is one thing if two guys are interested in the girl but she only loves one, but it just gets sloppy and awkward when she “loves” them both.

Then on top of a crazy stalker, and insane love drama, lets throw in emerging memories of a long lost sister. There was just so much going on, and instead of showing the reader, it seemed like we were being told instead. If that makes any sense. Just to much for the short book it was.

It also didn’t help that I knew who the stalker was well before the big reveal. I don’t know, I see all the great reviews for this book on Goodreads and I feel a little bummed that I couldn’t get into this book (well whole series) like many others. So maybe it’s just me.

I recived this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

What are your thoughts?

