2 Stars · 2015 · Fantasy · Young Adult

Dream A Little Dream – Kerstin Gier

214690902 stars

Author’s Website

Goodreads

Synopsis:

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals.

The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know–unless they actually are in her dreams? Luckily, Liv never could resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute….


Review:

I have read the other series that this author has written and I enjoyed the books very much but this one just seemed to take a step backwards.

The characters were flat. And I didn’t really connect to any of them. Everything about this book was just odd and didn’t seem to make sense to me. This is only the first book in the series so more information is probably in the next books but I am not sure if I can make myself read the rest of them.

It took me a while to get into the book but I found it really easy to put down for a day or two at a time. And that right there tells me that it just wasn’t the book for me.

I am pretty sure that there were some things that were lost in translation. There were a few places that didn’t really make sense

“She was rubbing the arm that he had held and muttering something offensive. ‘You really are the end!’ Henry’s gray eyes were flashing with anger.” This happened a lot more then it should have.

Overall this book wasn’t bad but it wasn’t great either. I really wish there had been more action involved.

 

What are your thoughts?

