2015 · 3 Stars · About Me · Fantasy · Young Adult

Defy – Sara B. Larson

Book Cover - Defy3 stars

Goodreads

Defy (Amazon)

Synopsis:

Alexa Hollen is a fighter. Forced to disguise herself as a boy and serve in the king’s army, Alex uses her quick wit and fierce sword-fighting skills to earn a spot on the elite prince’s guard. But when a powerful sorcerer sneaks into the palace in the dead of night, even Alex, who is virtually unbeatable, can’t prevent him from abducting her, her fellow guard and friend Rylan, and Prince Damian, taking them through the treacherous wilds of the jungle and deep into enemy territory.

The longer Alex is held captive with both Rylan and the prince, the more she realizes that she is not the only one who has been keeping dangerous secrets. And suddenly, after her own secret is revealed, Alex finds herself confronted with two men vying for her heart: the safe and steady Rylan, who has always cared for her, and the dark, intriguing Damian. With hidden foes lurking around every corner, is Alex strong enough to save herself and the kingdom she’s sworn to protect?


Review:

I knew that there was going to be a love triangle. I mean come one, it talks about it right in the blurb/synopsis, but I wasn’t prepared for how it just consumes the novel.

This book started out at a 4-4.5 and slowly fell to a 2. So I rounded it out to a 3 stars.

Okay so… we start the story with a kick butt female protagonist. After her parents death, her twin Marcel cuts her hair and pretends that she is really his twin brother. So instead of being sent to the breeding house Alexa/Alex later becomes part of the prince’s personal guard instead.

After about a third of the book it takes a drastic turn. All of a sudden we lose our tough Alex and we get girly Alexa. It seems like once she sees Damian’s chest and just loses herself. From then on the book is all about heart flutters, “chocolate” skin, muscles chests, and other silly things. For almost 2/3 of the book it becomes all about the romance between Alexa, Damian and Rylan. All the rest of the action is just shoved into the last 20 pages or so.

Damian was a meh character for me. Wasn’t great, wasn’t bad. Rylan on the other hand I liked a lot more.

I thought it was silly how angry Alexa got when she learned about all the small secrets that Damian had hidden not just from Alexa but from everyone. She had her own secrets. I just wish that she was just more mature. I know she was only like seventeen but she was acting like she was ten. Alexa also wasn’t very smart. I don’t want to give away to much but when they are kidnapped she should have known that something strange was going on.

I liked the idea of the book a lot more than I liked the way it was told. I am not sure if I am going to read the second book. A part of me doesn’t want to because I am afraid of more silly back and forth romance, but the part of me that hates not finishing a series is screaming at me to go and get the new two books.

What are your thoughts?

