2015 · 3 Stars · Book Reviews · Fantasy · Young Adult

Frostfire – Amanda Hocking

Book Cover - Frostfire3 stars

Goodreads

Frostfire (Amazon)

Synopsis:

Set apart by her heritage and her past, Bryn is a tracker who’s determined to become a respected part of her world. She has just one goal: become a member of the elite King’s Guard to protect the royal family. She’s not going to let anything stand in her way, not even a forbidden romance with her boss Ridley Dresden.

But all her plans for the future are put on hold when Konstantin– a fallen hero she once loved – begins kidnapping changelings. Bryn is sent in to help stop him, but will she lose her heart in the process?


Review:

This is the first book by this author that I have read, and I hate to say that I was a little disappointed. After reading the little blurb on the back of the book I was expecting more fantasy involved.

I know a book isn’t going well when I pick it up and within moments I am putting the book down to go and do dishes instead. (If you know me then you know how much I hate doing dishes) Eventually the book did pick up a little bit, but not enough to make the book really interesting. Overall it was a struggle to get through it.

Bryn… oh Bryn. As a character she was fine. She was portrayed well but as a person I didn’t like her at all. One minute she is all about doing whatever the King says because she is so loyal to her kingdom and the next she is hiding things from her King and arguing back to the King and Queen. Because yeah that is exactly what a good guard would do. *rolls eyes*

I could handle Bryn until she had a meltdown towards Tilda. That made me super upset. She treats her best friend like that, and yeah she does apologize later but Bryn is just really self-absorbed. She is never able to admit that she is wrong, and she acts like she is the only one who knows what is best for the kingdom. Just started to get on my nerves, as you can see. Haha. 🙂

Now lets move on to Konstantin Blake, the man that tries to kill Bryn’s father. When Bryn finally sees him years later it doesn’t take long as all for Bryn to go from “I will get my revenge if it is last thing I do” to “Well he seem liked he didn’t want to do it, so there has to be something more going on.” Sure Bryn, let’s throw away the anger because of some meaningful look that a man, you crushed on when you were younger, gave to you. It should have taken much more to get Bryn to start questioning everything.

I feel like there wasn’t a lot of substance in this book. A lot of inner monologue and self conflict (which is fine in small doses), but it just seemed to take over the book. Also I feel like I need to join in on the whole ending hype. I was super surprised that there wasn’t some kind of closure to bring this book to an end. Instead it just stops.

I would have to say that the best parts of this book would have to be the cover (I know it shouldn’t matter but I am a sucker for a pretty cover) and Linus. He was the only character that I really liked at all. Well I guess I can add Ridley to the list of alright characters. But even then he was still just okay for me.

Overall the book was fine. Not one I would ever go out of my way to buy to add to my collection but I am still going to read the second book. My mind won’t let me not finish a series. So hopefully the next book will be better for me.

 

What are your thoughts?

