2015 · 5 Stars · Book Reviews · Fantasy · Historical · Young Adult

Mortal Heart – Robin LaFevers

205226405 stars

Goodreads

Mortal Heart (Amazon)

 

Synopsis:

Annith has watched her gifted sisters at the convent come and go, carrying out their dark dealings in the name of St. Mortain, patiently awaiting her own turn to serve Death. But her worst fears are realized when she discovers she is being groomed by the abbess as a Seeress, to be forever sequestered in the rock and stone womb of the convent. Feeling sorely betrayed, Annith decides to strike out on her own.

She has spent her whole life training to be an assassin. Just because the convent has changed its mind doesn’t mean she has…


 

Review:

I finally got to finish this great series. I wasn’t a big fan of Isme. Sybella was much more entertaining. And I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading Annith’s tale, even more than the other two together.

This book was written very well, and was very easy to read. There were so many twists and turns, which kept the book moving at a brisk pace. I was worried that Annith was going to be the same as she was portrayed in the first two books, a biddable, obedient girl. Thankfully we learn early on that there is a lot more to Annith that meets the eye.

My favorite part of the book would have to be the wild hunt. Something new from this exciting world that we had yet to experience.

Alright… so now I have to gush a little bit. Balthazaar! Balthazaar is an amazing character. Easily my new favorite from the series (sorry Beast!). I loved how their love steadily grew vs all of sudden Bam! insta-love! It always make me happy when an author takes the time to have the characters (in this case mainly Annith, you will understand when you read the book) fall in love slowly but steadily.

If I could change one thing about the book it would have to be that I wanted more at the end. I would have loved a chapter that jumps to like 5 years later.

 

What are your thoughts?

