2015 · 3 Stars · Adult · Book Reviews · Mystery

Crimson Shore – Preston & Child

Book Cover - Crimson Shore3 stars

Goodreads

Crimson Shore (Amazon)
Synopsis:

A secret chamber.

A mysterious shipwreck.

A murder in the desolate salt marshes.

A seemingly straightforward private case turns out to be much more complicated-and sinister-than Special Agent A.X.L. Pendergast ever could have anticipated.

Pendergast, together with his ward Constance Greene, travels to the quaint seaside village of Exmouth, Massachusetts, to investigate the theft of a priceless wine collection. But inside the wine cellar, they find something considerably more disturbing: a bricked-up niche that once held a crumbling skeleton.


Review:

This wasn’t a bad book. It just wasn’t near as good as I thought it was going to be. This is the 15th book in the Agent Pendergast series. Compared to all the others books this one just didn’t really do it for me.

Pendergast is still a great character and I still love him. Constance Greene is still on the fence for me. One minute I like her and the next I wish she would just go away.

I think that the thing that I didn’t like about this book was more of the left field bad guy. I just feel like the mystery could have been so much better. Started off really good, and I couldn’t seem to put down the book. Then we get to the conclusion to the mystery about two-thirds in and then the book just jumps ship (pun fully intended haha). I kind of wish the last third of the book was either a novella between this and the next book in the series, or it was instead part of the next book.  It just seemed like it was just thrown in so that the book would have a cliffhanger.

Overall, this book was okay. but I kind of wish I had read one of the other books on my tbr instead.

 

What are your thoughts?

