2015 · 4 Stars · Book Reviews · Fantasy · Young Adult

Ruin and Rising – Leigh Bardugo

4 starsBook Cover - Ruin Rising

Goodreads

Ruin and Rising (Amazon)

Synopsis:

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.


Review:

Spoilers

This was a great book. And a great conclusion to an amazing series. Leigh Bardugo continues to create a wonderful world full of magic in her final installment in The Grisha series.

Leigh Bardugo really wrapped up the series well. And while it didn’t have the exact ending, I still finished the book with a happy warm feeling. It had a nice finished feel to it.

It is hard to write a review for a book that you loved without wanting to gush about all the amazing things.

There are a few plot twists that will have you wanting to throw the book across the room, so prepare yourself for some intense feels.

The Good:

Alina works her butt off to do everything she can to save everyone.

Fast paced, there weren’t any parts that I felt I had to struggle through.

I love a book where you still partly root for the bad guy, just because you love him so much.

Nikolai! Need I saw more? Okay I will. 🙂 From his first appearance in the second book I loved this man. I wanted Alina to end up with him and then I thought “That’s not fair… I want him!”

An action packed fight scene.

The Bad:

The Apparat. I hate everything about the squirmy, horrible man.

The end pair. I wasn’t super upset, but I still wish she had ended up with a certain amazing character…

Losing her powers?! I was hoping Alina was going to have them the rest of her life… Ugh so sad. But it makes sense considering that she ended up with Mal.I never really fell in love with Mal. I was holding out that Alina would be able to use her light to change The Darkling, just enough to keep him from being absolutely horrible.

Overall this was a great book, and I plan to recommend this series to everyone I know.

 

 

One thought on “Ruin and Rising – Leigh Bardugo

What are your thoughts?

