2015 · 4 Stars · Book Reviews · Fantasy · Young Adult

The Kiss of Deception- Mary E. Pearson

4 starsBook Cover - The Kiss of Deception

Goodreads

The Kiss of Deception (Amazon)

Synopsis:

A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.


Review:

Not sure I would really classify this as high fantasy, but I still found this to be an entertaining read. I stayed away from my computer all day yesterday so I wouldn’t be tempted to read any review and I am glad that I did.

After reading this book yesterday I decided it was time to see what everyone else thought. I was surprised on how many people had issues with the love triangle. I am normally one of the first people who jumps on the hate train when love triangles are involved. But while romance played a larger role than I would have liked to see I didn’t feel like it was really as bad as some that I have read. I mean it’s not Lia went and jumped both their bones. They were both good looking guys, but she told Pauline from the beginning that there was one that she liked over the other.

I was more upset about her running away from her wedding then I was with the love interest drama. I mean I understand, I wouldn’t want my parents picking who I was going to marry. But at the same time, her mother and father’s marriage was arranged (not a happy example but still), so you would think she would have expected it to happen as she was a First Daughter.

Part of the reason that she didn’t want to get married is because she didn’t get to see what he looked like before the wedding. She was worried that he was going to be twice her age. But she didn’t give him a chance. The whole point of the wedding was to bring the kingdoms together. Was a little selfish to do that to her kingdom. But anyways… moving on!

The best part of this book was the writing. It took me about 3 hours to fly through this book. It flowed well, and was consistently paced throughout.

Overall was a good read, with a few things that irked me, just not enough to bring down to 3 stars. I just hope the second book answers at least a few of my many questions. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Kiss of Deception- Mary E. Pearson

  1. I haven’t had a chance to read this book, but it sounds like something I might be able to enjoy due to the element of fantasy and the focus on the female characters. Glad to hear that the love triangle also does not play out predictably!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

