2015 · 4 Stars · Book Reviews · Fantasy · Young Adult

The Heart of Betrayal – Mary E. Pearson

4 stars21569527

Goodreads

The Heart of Betrayal (Amazon)
Synopsis:

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save Lia’s life, her erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There’s Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be savages. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.


Review:

This book was pretty good. I personally didn’t think it was as good as the first book though (I know, I know, blasphemy).

For me the first book was very well paced, but this book had some parts that seemed to drag on. There was just a lot of waiting for things to happen. Don’t get me wrong, when things did happen, they REALLY happen!

I am still not a huge fan of Lia, but I have to admit that I like her a little more because of this book. She is strong when faced with impossible challenges but she still finds a way to muddle through it.

Best part of the book was the death to the love triangle issues. I mean yeah, Kaden still loves Lia, but it is one sided. Lia just wants to survive, whatever that takes.

The author’s writing is still just as beautiful in this novel as was in the first one. That is the one thing that I love the most about this book. It was breathtaking, heart wrenching, and all consuming. I had to read this book in one sitting. And now I have to wait FOREVER for the next book to come out. The cliffhanger almost killed me, ugh.

Overall, this was a good book, and if you liked the first one, you should read this one!!

What are your thoughts?

