2016 · 4 Stars · Book Reviews · Retelling · Young Adult

The Golden Braid│Melanie Dickerson

4 stars25290956

Goodreads

The Golden Braid (Amazon)
Synopsis:

The one who needs rescuing isn’t always the one in the tower.

Rapunzel can throw a knife better than any man around. And her skills as an artist rival those of any artist she’s met. But for a woman in medieval times, the one skill she most desires is the hardest one to obtain: the ability to read.

After yet another young man asks for Rapunzel’s hand in marriage, Mother decides they need to move once again, but this time to a larger city. Rapunzel’s heart soars—surely there she can fulfill her dream. But Mother won’t let her close to a man. She claims that no man can be trusted.

After being rescued by a knight on the road to the city, and in turn rescuing him farther down the road, Rapunzel’s opportunity arrives at last. This knight, Sir Gerek, agrees to educate Rapunzel in order to pay back his debt. She just has to put up with his arrogant nature and single-minded focus on riches and prestige.

But this Rapunzel story is unlike any other and the mystery that she uncovers will change everything—except her happily ever after.


Review:

More 3.5 stars.

This is the second book that I have read by this author and I am not sure how I feel about it. It was alright… but for me it wasn’t anything anything really special.

I couldn’t really get into the story. Don’t get me wrong it was a cute little book, I guess I was just expecting more. I didn’t really like the characters, so that makes it hard to love this book. Each character seemed really one dimensional. I think the think I had issues with the most was, that it was just really predicable. I was waiting for this great plot twist… and I was left wanting.

I didn’t like Gerek. He was Mr. I-can’t-think-about-her-because-she-is-a-peasant. It was okay the first 5 times he says it to himself, but it got a little old.

***Little Spoiler Below! Beware!***
The first line in the blurb is “The one who needs rescuing isn’t always the one in the tower.”
But guess what… she gets saved from a tower. Not very important, but it still irked me haha. ***End of Spoiler***

Overall, it wasn’t bad, but I wish that there had been more substance to the book.

 

What are your thoughts?

