2016 · 3 Stars · Book Reviews · Fantasy · Young Adult

The Rose Society│Marie Lu

238460133 stars

Goodreads

The Rose Society (Amazon)

Synopsis:

Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she flees Kenettra with her sister to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good when her very existence depends on darkness?


Review:

*2.5 Stars*

I know, I know. Blasphemy with the 2.5 stars, but I just couldn’t fall in love with this book. After the cliffhanger in the first book, I was actually excited about reading The Rose Society. Then I started reading it. I had problems liking Adelina in the first book, and it was the same this time around. I just wish she had matured at least a little bit.

There was very little world building, and that was another problem that I also had with the first book. Characters were still one dimensional. Adelina isn’t exactly evil, she just kills people. To me she just wasn’t interesting. It always seemed like she was a little girl “Poor me, I will get even!”

Magiano is the only character that I liked at all. But, it was more because he was actually interesting, and I enjoyed reading the parts of the book he is in.

Overall I had issues with the book, and when I look at other reviews, I am pretty sure it is just me as it seems most everyone loved this book. It was just boring and predictable for me, and was a struggle to get through.

What are your thoughts?

