2016 · 3 Stars · Book Reviews · Fantasy · Retelling · Young Adult

Princess of Thorns │Stacey Jay

18782855 3 stars

Goodreads

Synopsis:

Game of Thrones meets the Grimm’s fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty’s daughter, a warrior princess who must fight to reclaim her throne.

Though she looks like a mere mortal, Princess Aurora is a fairy blessed with enhanced strength, bravery, and mercy yet cursed to destroy the free will of any male who kisses her. Disguised as a boy, she enlists the help of the handsome but also cursed Prince Niklaas to fight legions of evil and free her brother from the ogre queen who stole Aurora’s throne ten years ago.

Will Aurora triumph over evil and reach her brother before it’s too late? Can Aurora and Niklaas break the curses that will otherwise forever keep them from finding their one true love?


Review:

This is story about Sleeping Beauty’s daughter Aurora and Niklaas who is a prince from a nearby kingdom.

The setting and world building was minimal but what was there, was done very well. The places that Niklaas and Aurora went to were beautifully described.

The characters were a little hard for me to love though. Aurora is a kick butt, staff weilding, take charge type of princess. I had no problem with any of that. But I did have problems with the whole “You lied to me!” “You lied to me too!” “Well it is different because I had a good reason…” Those types of situations in books always seem to rub me the wrong way.

Niklaas was written well, but I didn’t really click with him. I understand that the whole curse affected how he lived life. But we are told about his great sexual accomplishments more than a few times. I have just never understood how telling the reader about all the partners a man has had, is supposed to show how attractive he is.

But really I am being really picky. I was expecting a lot more from this book, so I was left disappointed. Overall, wasn’t a bad book, but wasn’t great. Falls in the middle

 

What are your thoughts?

