2016 · 4 Stars · Book Reviews · Dystopia · Dystopia Book Reviews · Young Adult

The 5th Wave │ Rick Yancey

4 starsBook Cover - The 5th Wave

Goodreads

Synopsis:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

 

Banner

 

Review:

I was so excited to read this book, and I was not disappointed. Kept me on my toes pretty much the entire time. There were a few slow parts but overall was still an easy and fun read.

Cassie… ah what can I say about Cassie. She was funny, smart, and she was struggling to make it in a world that is out to get her. I liked her because she doesn’t start the book as this great survivor, with amazing skills. She just does what she can to get by.

Ben I could live without but oh well. He was there, nothing I could do about it.

Evan. This guys was a creeper. I don’t want to go into it to much because to explain would spoil parts of the book.

I loved the idea behind this book. It was a very entertaining, and I can’t wait to read the next book.

 

8 thoughts on “The 5th Wave │ Rick Yancey

  1. I loved this book too! You have to admire Cassie on everything set before her. Ben, yeah, that is a hard one to say. Evan was def creepy, but I am interested to see what happens with his character in the second and third book.

    I did go and see the movie with my bf. I was not allowed to say what was different because he had not picked the book up yet…but after the movie I was allowed to explain all the changed scenes.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

