2016 · 4 Stars · Book Reviews · Dystopia · Dystopia Book Reviews · Young Adult

The Infinite Sea │ Rick Yancey

4 starsBook Cover - The Infinite Sea

Goodreads

Synopsis:

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

Banner

Review:

I really enjoyed reading the first book in this series The 5th Wave, so I was a little nervous about reading this book. I seem to have a love/hate relationship with second books in a series. Some are amazing, some shouldn’t have been written. But thankfully this book was just as good as I thought it was going to be.

I was on the fence about Ringer in the first book, but after getting to know her so well in The Infinite Sea, I have grown to like her more than Cassie. Cassie was okay in the first book, and it the second book I caught myself rolling my eyes a few time. There is just something special about Ringer that pulls me towards her being my favorite.

Yancey has a great voice that he puts into his books. You are drawn in, and you just don’t want to stop writing. But for me, some of the characters were hit or miss.

But really overall, I am excited for the next book to come out.

 

One thought on “The Infinite Sea │ Rick Yancey

  1. Great review! I totally agree with your opinion on second books. I also was really glad to discover Infinite Sea was just as good as The 5th Wave.

    I really liked Ringer in this second book, and like you, I didn’t like her at all in the first installment. But I still liked Cassie a lot! Can’t wait until 24th when The Last Star will be released.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

