2016 · 3 Stars · Book Reviews · Fantasy · Reviewed for NetGalley · Young Adult

The Dragon Round │ Stephen S. Power

Book Cover - The Dragon Round

3 stars

Goodreads

Synopsis:

A swashbuckling adventure with a dark side for fans of George R.R. Martin and Naomi Novik—when a ship captain is stranded on a deserted island by his mutinous crew, he finds a baby dragon that just might be the key to his salvation…and his revenge.

He only wanted justice. Instead he got revenge.

Jeryon has been the captain of the Comber for over a decade. He knows the rules. He likes the rules. But not everyone on his ship agrees. After a monstrous dragon attacks the galley, the surviving crewmembers decide to take the ship for themselves and give Jeryon and his self-righteous apothecary “the captain’s chance”: a small boat with no rudder, no sails, and nothing but the clothes on his back to survive on the open sea.

Fighting for their lives against the elements, Jeryon and his companion land on an island that isn’t as deserted as they originally thought. They find a baby dragon that, if trained, could be their way home. But as Jeryon and the dragon grow closer, the captain begins to realize that even if he makes it off the island, his old life won’t be waiting for him and in order get justice, he’ll have to take it for himself.

From a Pushcart Prize–nominated poet and speculative short story writer, The Dragon Round combines a rich world, desperate characters, and gorgeous, literary fiction into a timeless tale of revenge.

Banner

Review:

Not sure how I feel about this book. I started off loving how fast paced and exciting it was. And then the author went and started describing everything… It made it a slow read, and the book didn’t have a nice flow to it. The world building would have been much better if the nautical part had been toned down and less distracting. But alas, it was not.

I didn’t really connect to any of the characters. That also made it hard for me to get through the book.

About halfway through the book becomes all about revenge. Okay fine, I can live with that. But it wasn’t just getting even with the guys who had wronged him. It was those men, and everyone else who stood between him and them, and any in the surrounding area. It just seemed like there was a lot of pointless death that was just there to add to the death count.

I loved the idea for the book, but I wasn’t thrilled with how it was presented to me as a reader. The writing was just off. Not bad, just not something that I enjoy.

Overall, not a bad book, and if there is another book to make it a series I might read it. Not sure just yet.

*** I received a copy of this book in exchange for a honest review. ***

Advertisements

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s