2 Stars · 2016 · Adult · Book Reviews · Historical

Three Sisters, Three Queens │ Philippa Gregory

book-cover-three-sisters-three-queens

Synopsis:

As sisters they share an everlasting bond; As queens they can break each other’s hearts.

“There is only one bond that I trust: between a woman and her sisters. We never take our eyes off each other. In love and in rivalry, we always think of each other.”

When Katherine of Aragon is brought to the Tudor court as a young bride, the oldest princess, Margaret, takes her measure. With one look, each knows the other for a rival, an ally, a pawn, destined—with Margaret’s younger sister Mary—to a sisterhood unique in all the world. The three sisters will become the queens of England, Scotland, and France.

United by family loyalties and affections, the three queens find themselves set against each other. Katherine commands an army against Margaret and kills her husband James IV of Scotland. But Margaret’s boy becomes heir to the Tudor throne when Katherine loses her son. Mary steals the widowed Margaret’s proposed husband, but when Mary is widowed it is her secret marriage for love that is the envy of the others. As they experience betrayals, dangers, loss, and passion, the three sisters find that the only constant in their perilous lives is their special bond, more powerful than any man, even a king.


2 stars

Review:

After I finally figured out that this book wasn’t going to be told from 3 different points of view, I settled in to be wowed by Margaret future Queen of the Scots. I was very unsatisfied.

I can sadly say that I am not very knowledgeable about King Henry the VIII’s sisters. So I was looking forward to getting one of my favorite time periods told from a new point of view. And here I sit wondering why I even bothered finishing this book.

As a child Princess Margaret is very materialistic, and extremely self centered. I had a hard time liking her, and when you don’t like the main character it makes reading the book more of a chore instead of a pleasure.

When Margaret becomes Queen of the Scots she has this rivalry with Queen Katherine. It is so bad that she doesn’t want to go back to England because she would have to walk behind her when they went to dinner or to any other functions. Just seemed really silly to focus on.

When her younger sister sends her letters they are filled with frivolous things, like how many new dresses she has gotten, and those sorts of things. I seemed like it was upsetting Margaret more than it should have. She complains over and over about how vain bother of her sisters are, but she is exactly the same way.

“‘Privately, I swear to myself that my Margaret will be acknowledged as the prettier girl.'” Because that of course is the most important thing…

There was also a section that drove me a little crazy. There was a line that said, “Can she really think that I would be better dead than shamed?” Then a short paragraph and than, “Can my own sister really think that I would be better dean than shamed?” The second one seems unnecessary

What are your thoughts?

