2016 · 5 Stars · Book Reviews · Retelling · Young Adult

Heartless │ Marissa Meyer

book-cover-heartless

Synopsis:

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.

Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.


5 stars

Review:

I was soooo excited to read this book. I put it on hold the day that the library added it to it’s catalog. And thankfully I was able to pick it up the day it was released.

I went to work and had to suffer through 8 hours of waiting until I could finally sit down and start reading.

To be perfectly honest I finished the book that first night. I just did not want to put it down. I loved it so much. I just love Marissa Meyer’s writing style, it flows so easily, and the characters are extremely vivid.

I have sadly never read the original Alice in Wonderland, I have only seen Disney’s adaptation. And I remember enjoying it very much. It has been quite awhile since I have sat down and watched it.

Goodreads

 

What are your thoughts?

