2017 · 4 Stars · Adult · Book Reviews · Paranormal · Reviewed for NetGalley

Fire Touched │ Patricia Briggs

Book Cover - Fire Touched

Synopsis:

Tensions between the fae and humans are coming to a head. And when coyote shapeshifter Mercy and her Alpha werewolf mate, Adam, are called upon to stop a rampaging troll, they find themselves with something that could be used to make the fae back down and forestall out-and-out war: a human child stolen long ago by the fae.

Defying the most powerful werewolf in the country, the humans, and the fae, Mercy, Adam, and their pack choose to protect the boy no matter what the cost. But who will protect them from a boy who is fire touched?


4 stars

Review:

I have been a huge fan of this series since the first book came out. And I am still a fan. The last few books have been pretty good, but they weren’t as good as this one. This book had more plot and flowed easier.

In this book we meet Aiden, the Fire Touched. He is a human who was trapped in Underhill for an extremely long time, and Underhill wants him back. He was given power over fire by Underhill. The fae are trying to get Aiden back to get on Underhill’s good side.

I think the part that I liked the least was the crane scene. There was so much set up that I got to the point where I thought “I don’t care… I get it. Can we please move on?” And that scene stuck with me the rest of the book and bugged me enough that I dropped it to 4 stars. Well that and the fact that I felt like the story wasn’t wrapped up as well as it could have been. I have a lot of unanswered questions. It could have used another chapter to tidy up a few loose ends.

I enjoy Mercy and Adam but I was ready for a book that didn’t focus on them, or the issues the pack has with Mercy being a coyote. Overall it was a good book. And I can’t wait to read the next one.

*I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

What are your thoughts?

