Book Reviews

Crooked Kingdom │ Leigh Bardugo

Click me for link to Goodreads

Synopsis:

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.


4 stars

Review:

I didn’t love this book as much as the first one. But I was still very happy with this book. I would have finished it a lot sooner but I didn’t want it to end… 😦

What pulled this book from 5 stars to 4 stars was sadly Kaz himself. He was my favorite character from the first book, and in this one he took a back seat. He just didn’t seem to be as amazingly smart, and sneaky.

In Crooked Kingdom I would have to say Wylan is my favorite character, with Jesper a close second. They seemed to be more fleshed out.

Overall though it was a really good book, and I really hope there is another book in this series for me to look forward to.

What are your thoughts?

