2017 · 3 Stars · Book Reviews · Dystopia · Young Adult

The Maze Runner │ James Dashner

Synopsis:

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.


Review:

It took me a lot longer to get into this book than I thought it was going to. I have heard so many good things about it, and I was worried that it was not going to live up to all the hype my friends had given it. And sadly, I was right.

It was not a bad book. But it just started a little slow, and was a little hard to follow. I wasn’t very interested in the characters until about halfway through. Not going to say it was a bad book, I just thought it was going to be better.

The book was also a little boring until about 2/3 of the way into it. And of course once we get closer to the end the book starts to pick up. I am pretty sure I will read the next book, but I am not going to go out of my way to rush to Barnes and Noble for it. I will probably just wait to run across it at my local library.

2 thoughts on “The Maze Runner │ James Dashner

  1. I remember liking The Maze Runner and feeling indifferent about the second book. I didn’t even bother to read the third book! I hope you’ll like the series more than I do 🙂

    Like

What are your thoughts?

